Skip to Main Content

E-book Collections

This guide gives an overview of the E-Book Collections available to Dee J. Kelly Law Library patrons, particularly students, faculty, and staff of Texas A&M University School of Law.

Introduction

The Dee J. Kelly Law Library offers a number of digital collections that contain law-specific and interdisciplinary E-book resources. Students, faculty, and staff of Texas A&M School of Law may access these resources both on campus and away from campus. Several of these collections offer additional patrons onsite access while in the Law Library.

For faculty seeking information on making E-book resources available to students in your classes, please consult with a reference librarian. If you have suggestions for additional E-book resources not listed here, please contact our Head of Collection Development, Wendy Law. For assistance with accessing these E-book Collections, please contact our Head of Technical and Electronic Services, Joan Stringfellow.

What is an E-book

An E-book (short for electronic book) is a text that can be viewed or downloaded to be read digitally. The E-books in our collection can be read on any computer, laptop, or mobile device. A special e-reader, such as Kindle, is not required.

E-Book Collections

  • CALI eLangdell Press - Publishes free, open case books for legal education. Students can use eLangdell's electronic casebooks to supplement learning for free. Faculty can adopt and edit eLangdell's Creative Commons licensed casebooks at no cost. Subjects include torts, criminal procedure, contracts, bankruptcy, legal research, and many more.
  • De Gruyter & University Press Library eBook Collection - This collection includes English language law titles from DeGruyter and partner presses published between 2000 and 2022. Books in other academic disciplines are also accessible through partnership with Texas A&M University Libraries in College Station.
  • HathiTrust Digital Library -  HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. The HathiTrust Digital Library brings together the immense collections of partner institutions in digital form, preserving them securely to be accessed and used today, and in future generations. There are more than 1.8 million titles in the public domain available in the HathiTrust Digital Library, and more than 7 million total digitized volumes.
  • HeinOnline - Hein's premier online offering with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in fully-searchable, image-based format. Primarily known for its journal collection, HeinOnline also contains significant ebook content in numerous collections including the History of International Law, Legal Classics, Intellectual Property Law Collection, Air and Space Law, LGBTQ+ Rights, and more.
  • IBFD Tax Research - The IBFD Tax Research Library Collection is a key source of reference for tax professionals and scholars around the world. IBFD publishes reference works on international tax as well as thorough accounts of current issues covering such topics as tax compliance and transparency, transfer pricing, tax treaties, BEPS and the digital economy.
  • LexisNexis Digital Library (LNDL) - A digital library from LexisNexis® and OverDrive®, the LexisNexis Digital Library provides access to hundreds of authoritative E-books on over 90 legal subjects accessible from a variety of mobile devices and desktop platforms. Users can search for, check out, and download online materials, and annotate or highlight digital copies. Includes access to a large collection of legal treatises, practice guides, and more.
  • PLI Plus -  A searchable database of the Practising Law Institute's treatises, course handbooks, legal forms, program transcripts, and answer books covering a range of over 25 legal practice areas.
  • ProQuest Ebook Central - Provides access to nearly fifteen thousand E-books covering law and other academic disciplines from leading publishers including Cambridge U. Press, Wolters Kluwer Law & Business, Oxford U. Press, Ashgate, Hart, Edward Elgar, Wiley, Palgrave Macmillan, and other university presses. 
  • Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative, and International Law, 1600 - 1926 - Provides the kind of historical resources previously found only at the largest and oldest repositories. This resource gives libraries online access to foreign and international legal literature, including pre-1926 treatises and similar monographs in the following areas: International Law; Comparative Law; Foreign Law and others, sourced from the collections of the Yale, George Washington University, and Columbia law libraries.
  • Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises, 1800 - 1926 - Provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on U.S. and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
  • Very Short Introductions - Launched in 1995, Oxford University Press' Very Short Introductions series offers concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Our subscription covers the titles in only one subject -- law.
  • West Academic Study Aids  Collection - Provides unlimited, 24/7 digital access to hundreds of study aids covering virtually every law school course. The collection features include easy searching and annotations, saving to "Favorites," downloading for offline access, and series like Acing, Concepts and Insights, Concise Hornbooks, Exam Pro, Hornbooks, and Nutshell.