Seminar Guide - Criminal Justice Law & Policy

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Title 18, United States Code: Crimes and Criminal Procedure

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure

U.S. Department of Justice, Federal Criminal Law: Gives background on federal criminal laws and links to the major federal law enforcement agencies.

U.S. Department of Justice, Office for Victims of Crime

• See their publications page for reports and studies.

BNA Criminal Law Reporter

State Criminal Codes: An alphabetical table with links to all state criminal laws.

State Criminal Procedure Codes: An alphabetical table with links to all state criminal procedure laws.

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Federal Bureau of Investigation, White-Collar Crime

National White Collar Crime Center

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, White Collar Crime

BNA Corporate Law Resource Center

BNA Securities Regulation & Law Report

BNA White Collar Crime Report

Campaign for Youth Justice

• Research Reports
• Fact Sheets
• Special Report: Collateral Consequences
• Other Research Resources

Child Rights International Network, Minimum Ages of Criminal Responsibility in the Americas

Juvenile Justice: Geography, Policy, Practice & Statistics

Human Rights Watch, Branded for Life (2014)

Texas Criminal Justice Coalition, Fact Sheet: Raising the Age of Juvenile Jurisdiction (2015)

Specialty Courts

Title 28, United States Code: Judiciary and Judicial Procedure

National Criminal Justice Reference Service, Spotlight on Drug Courts

National Drug Court Institute

U.S. Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration, Treatment Drug Courts: Integrating Substance Abuse Treatment With Legal Case Processing (1996)

The Sentencing Project, Drug Courts: A Review of the Evidence (2009)

Texas Legislative Budget Board, Issue Brief: Specialty Courts (2016)

Texas Specialty Courts Advisory Council, Adult Drug Court Best Practice Standards (2016)

Criminal Procedure

American Immigration Lawyers Association, Research on Prosecutorial Discretion

Vera Institute, Prosecutorial Discretion

Congressional Research Service, The Federal Prison Population Buildup: Options for Congress (2016)

Federal Bureau of Prisons, Directory of National Programs (2016)

Prison Policy Initiative, Recidivism & Reentry

Rand Corporation, Evaluating the Effectiveness of Correctional Education (2014)

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics, Recidivism

U.S. Department of Justice

• Prison Reform: Reducing Recidivism by Strengthening the Federal Bureau of Prisons
• Roadmap to Reentry

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

National Conference of State Legislatures: Corrections and Sentencing Resources

Sage Online Journals: Electronic access to 550+ peer-reviewed, full-text journals and over 264,000+ articles, with content dating back to 1999. Relevant journals include Criminal Justice Policy Review, Punishment & Society, and The Prison Journal.

SSRN Sentencing Law & Policy eJournal

United States Sentencing Commission

U.S. Courts, Defender Services Office, Introduction to Federal Sentencing

Advocacy Groups

American Civil Liberties Union: Sentencing Reform

Families Against Mandatory Minimums

Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights

National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers

Prison Policy Initiative: Resources on Sentencing Policy

The Sentencing Project

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

American Bar Association Criminal Justice Section

Brennan Center for Justice

Council of State Governments Justice Center

CQ Public Affairs Collection: Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation the CQ Public Affairs Collection features reporting, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.

Justice Policy Institute

National Center for Victims of Crime

PolicyArchive: Comprehensive, searchable, open access, online archive of public policy research.

PolicyFile: Contains information from over 350 public policy think tanks, non-governmental organizations, research institutes, university centers, advocacy groups, and other entities.

Political Science Complete: Provides coverage of global political topics with a worldwide focus, reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. Designed specifically for students, researchers and government institutions. Contains full text for hundreds of journals along with indexing and abstracting for thousands of publications.

Vera Institute of Justice