Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Guide - Race & the Law

Existing Guides

Please note that most of these guides include links to resources that are only available through their campuses. To access these resources through TAMU Law Library, please go to our electronic resources page or contact a reference librarian for help.

Critical Race Theory Research Guide (pdf version here) - Robert S. Marx Law Library, University of Cincinnati College of Law

Civil Rights Guide - New England Law Library

Race and the Law/Critical Race Theory - Charlotte School of Law

Civil Rights in Texas - University of Texas at San Antonio Libraries

Databases

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key iconRace Relations Abstracts: Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

key iconSabin Americana Digital Archive: Contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.

key iconSlavery, Abolition and Social Justice: Portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law (free, but requires registration): This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery.