Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Your Seminar Paper

Electronic Databases

The library has an extensive collection of legal and interdisciplinary electronic databases. A librarian can also direct you to databases that might help with your research. These contain a wealth of both primary and secondary resources that you can use to fortify your thesis or argument

To access our Electronic Resources page, click here. You can access the listing of electronic resources on and off campus. To logon off campus, you will need to use your UIN and your last name. Some of the listed resources require individual database login credentials (West, Lexis, Bloomberg etc.).

Perma CC & The Wayback Machine

Perma.cc and the Wayback Machine are web archiving tools that allow users to save current versions of webpages and view old versions (even webpages that no longer exist!). 

Both Perma.cc and the Wayback Machine are free to use. Although Perma.cc limits usage for personal accounts (10 links per month), the library provides unlimited free accounts to law review students and faculty (including RAs). 

Perma CC

So how can you use the Perma CC?

1. Set up an account

To preserve web pages with Perma.cc, you need an account. Anyone can create an account. *Perma.cc limits free usage for personal accounts (you can only save ten records per month).

Perma.cc does offer unlimited free accounts to law review students and faculty. Faculty may contact the library to set up accounts (including accounts for your RAs). Law Review students should contact the library or their Law Review Board. 

2. Preserve a Page

Add the URL for into the bar, and select the name of your journal or name to affiliate it with that organization or name. Click on the blue "Create Perma Link" button.  After a few seconds, you will see your Perma.cc record. The link will become permanent after 24 hours. Links can only be deleted within these same 24 hours.   

4. Add an extension

For more information about how this resource works, view the Perma CC Guide.  

Need training or help setting up a Perma.cc account? Contact the law library via email at lawref@law.tamu.edu, stop by the reference office, or schedule an appointment with a librarian. We are happy to assist.

Using the Wayback Machine

So how can you use the Wayback Machine? Here are three ways...

1. View old web pages

Visit https://archive.org/web. Enter the URL of any website and select Browse History.  You can then browse by date to see that URL as it existed in the past.   

2. Save a new page

Visit https://archive.org/web. In the lower-right corner, enter the webpage in the box titled "Save Page Now" (see below image).  The page will be captured immediately, provided the site owner allows automated archiving.

3. Add a Wayback Machine extension

For more information about how these resources work, check out the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine FAQs.