Skip to Main Content

A/V and Streaming Resources

This guide gives an overview of the A/V and Streaming Resources available to Dee J. Kelly Law Library patrons, particularly students, faculty, and staff of Texas A&M University School of Law.

Introduction

This guide details the Dee J. Kelly Law Library's collection of A/V resources, including media items available through streaming, and some freely available sources on the web. It includes links to several streaming collections that can be searched by topic, group, media type, etc. Several of these resources are available through collaboration with the Texas A&M University Libraries.  

These resources are free for  Texas A&M Law students, faculty, and staff to use. If you are off campus, you may be asked to sign-in using your Texas A&M username and password.

If you have suggestions for A/V or streaming resources not available in our collections, please contact Professor Wendy Law, Head of Collection Development, using the information box on the left-hand side.

Law-related Audio Resources

  • CALI ClassCaster - CALI's free blogging and podcasting network. It allows professors to create free class blogs, websites,  and post educational materials. It also includes support for creating and posting recorded lectures.  All you need is your CALI ID and password to log in and get started.
  • CALI Podcasts - CALI podcasts are audio recordings of law professors straightforwardly covering specific legal concepts. Each podcast provides law students with a learning resource that may help with time management.
  • LawNext Podcast - A weekly podcast hosted by Bob Ambrogi, publisher of LawSites. Each week, Mr. Ambrogi interviews the innovators and entrepreneurs who are driving what’s next in the legal industry. From legal technology startups to new law firm business models to enhancing access to justice, Mr. Ambgrogi and his guests explore the future of law and legal practice. 
  • Law School Toolbox Podcast - The Law School Toolbox podcast is an engaging show for law students about law school, the bar exam, legal careers, and life. Each week, the podcast offers practical tips and advice on academic matters, careers, and more. The Law School Toolbox podcast is hosted by  law school and bar exam experts Alison Monahan and Lee Burgess.
  • The Lawyerist Podcast - A show about the future of lawyering and law practice. Every week the podcast features conversations with successful lawyers, innovative thought leaders, and other creative people helping to shape the future of legal practice.
  • Oyez - Contains audio recordings of U. S. Supreme Court oral arguments.  Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Sponsored by Cornell's Legal Information Institute, Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law.
  • West Academic Study Aids Audio Collection - Provides unlimited digital access to hundreds of study aids, written by noted law school professors, covering virtually every law school course including audiobooks and audio lectures so you can listen on the go.

Interdisciplinary Audio Resources

  • Music Online - Provides thousands of audio tracks, scores, reference works, etc., including some on topics such as civil rights, crime, laws and legislation, immigration, etc.

Law-related Visual Resources

  • Docuseek -  A streaming platform for independent documentaries and other films exploring social and environmental issues. To see the listing of available films, please click the “My Movies” link in the upper right-hand menu.
  • Law Library DVD Collection - The Library has a collection of DVDs covering documentary and popular films and TV series with a legal focus, plus a selection of award-winning U.S. and foreign films available at the Circulation Desk in our Reserves Collection.
  • Westlaw Practical Law Videos - Practical Law's videos provide legal expertise, transactional analysis, and market intelligence across various practice areas and sectors, including commercial transactions, healthcare, labor & employment, real estate, trusts & estates, etc.

Interdisciplinary Visual Resources

  • Alexander Street Academic Video Online - Provides access to thousands of videos curated for the educational experience in subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
  • Films On Demand - A comprehensive collection of over 50,000 high-quality educational videos covering a wide range of topics.
  • Kanopy Streaming Video - A streaming video database that provides access to documentaries, classic and indie cinema, and award-winning films and shorts.
  • LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) - An online learning resource that provides thousands of computer-based training videos covering a wide variety of topics. Instructional videos include software, business, management, technology, and creative and technical skills.
  • SAGE Video - A streaming video collection in the social sciences that combines originally commissioned material with licensed videos in the areas of Education, Media, Communication and Cultural Studies, Counseling and Psychotherapy, Politics & International Relations, Psychology, Sociology, and Criminology & Criminal Justice.
  • Vanderbilt Television News Archive - The Vanderbilt Television News Archive includes news broadcasts and clips as well as over 1.2 M records and abstracts for the newscasts from ABC, CBS, and Fox News.