Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Publishing in Law Reviews and Journals
This guide is designed to provide our faculty with resources available for academic publishing in law reviews and interdisciplinary publications.
The following helpful texts are available in the library catalog.
Academic Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .V64 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
This text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the legal writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works.
Scholarly Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .C5375 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Scholarly Writing guides writers through a five-step process of constructing their legal research papers, from topic selection to finishing the final product. Maintaining its example-based approach, the new edition includes additional sample excerpts to illustrate concepts throughout the text.
Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks by
Call Number: Z471 .B44 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-21
Writing Your Journal Article in Twelve Weeks: A Guide to Academic Publishing Success is a revolutionary approach to enabling academic authors to overcome their anxieties and produce the publications that are essential to succeeding in their fields. Each week, readers learn a particular feature of strong articles and work on revising theirs accordingly.
Washington & Lee Journal Submissions & Rankings
Provides a listing of the most cited law reviews by journal title, subject, ranking, and other factors. Rankings rely heavily on counted citations.
Law Journal Meta-Ranking
Law Journal Meta-Ranking created and maintained by Professor Bryce Clayton Newell.
HeinOnline Most-Cited Law Journals
With the use of a citation tool called Scholarcheck, HeinOnline provides an alphabetical listing of the most-cited llaw journals.
Law Review Review
Posts about law reviews and scholarship from Prawfsblawg.
Journal Citation Reports
Measures research influence and impact at the journal and category levels by showing the relationship between citing and cited journals available in the Web of Science database. Choose law under the "select categories" menu on the left to see rankings of the academic law journals included.
Citation Performance Indicators: A Very Short Introduction
Authored by Phil Davis and posted on the Scholarly Kitchen website.
Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
(Marion Gould Gallagher Library, University of Washington School of Law) CILP is a weekly email index of current articles from over 500 legal publications. The index is organized by subject, and complete tables of contents for all indexed journals are available.
Index to Legal Periodicals (EBSCO)
This is now available through EBSCO's Legal Source which was developed through a merger of high-quality databases from EBSCO and H.W. Wilson, and including many unique sources not previously available, this database provides full-text coverage of the world's most respected scholarly law journals.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)
A subject index to selected international and comparative law periodicals and collections of essays. It is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions other than the United States, the U.K., Canada, and Australia.
The following resources provide information about copyright and retaining author's rights when negotiating with publishers:
ACRL Scholarly Communications Authors' Rights Toolkit
This Scholarly Communications ToolKit developed by ACRL is a great resource for new and experienced authors, particularly for faculty publishing outside of traditional legal academic venues such as law reviews. This ToolKit’s page on Authors Rights can help authors navigate this landscape and successfully negotiate better rights over their scholarship.
Association of Research Libraries: Author's Rights page
Provides a listing of author's rights resources, include an overview of US Copyright law, strategies for retaining author's rights, websites.
Provides a database of academic journal publishers' policies on copyright and self-archiving including archiving policies and mandates, a directory of open access repositories, and copyright policies.
SPARC Author Addendum
Legal instrument that modifies a publisher's agreement in order to retain rights to your submission.
Creative Commons Licensing
A resource providing a free, simple, and standardized way to grant copyright permissions for creative and academic works; ensure proper attribution; and allow others to copy, distribute, and make use of those works
Drake Law's Article Dissemination Checklist
This is a helpful step-by-step checklist advising authors on best practices for disseminating scholarship.
Law Conferences Calendar
Conference calendar for law and law-related topics. Coverage is internationally-oriented.
Perma.cc helps scholars, journals, courts, and others create permanent records of the web sources they cite.
Zotero Citation Management System
Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.
Internet Archive Wayback Machine
The Wayback Machine is a helpful tool to access websites that used to exist on the Internet but have moved or been deleted. If you didn't save a page with Perma.cc, this tool is one of the last-resort options to getting back to it.