Researching Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility

* these databases require your own login and password – please contact the library if you are a TAMU Law student and do not have or cannot remember your password *

• Bloomberg Law - Login to Bloomberg and visit this link.
• Lexis Plus – Login to Lexis Plus. Click on the Practice Area tab, then Legal Ethics, then scroll down to News and click on All Legal Ethics News. For more specific results, you can scroll down a little further and select All Legal Ethics Legal News instead.
• Westlaw – Login to Westlaw. Westlaw doesn't have an easy way to get to news content, so the quickest way is to use the search bar at the top and type in "professional responsibility," then select "Professional Responsibility Legal Newspapers & Newsletters" from the drop-down suggestion box. This only gives you a few results, but they're the best Westlaw has on this topic.
• Law360 – This news database run by Lexis provides all kinds of legal news. To access their legal ethics section, use this link. You may have to log in to your Lexis account before you can access it.

• ABA Journal legal ethics archive - A collection of ethics-related articles from the ABA Journal.
• Above the Law's legal ethics page
• APRL (Association of Professional Responsibility Lawyers) Legal Ethics Links
• Heiros Gamos Guide to the Practice of Law - Heiros Gamos acts as a comprehensive gateway offering links to an extensive number of articles, ethics commentary, associations, rules, codes, and opinions.
• The Law for Lawyers Today blog (published by Thompson Hine)
• Legal Ethics Advisor blog
• Legal Ethics Forum - An academic blog about newsworthy legal ethics opinions and happenings.
• Legal Profession Blog - Part of the Law Professor Blogs Network.
• JOTWELL: Legal Profession - Article related to the legal profession from The Journal of Things We Like (Lots).
• Justia's list of legal ethics blogs - An up-to-date list of law blogs that analyze or report on ethics.
• The Legal Ethics of Better Call Saul - A just for fun site that investigates the legal ethics issues shown on the popular show.

• The New York Times's legal profession page - Subscription required. The library provides free New York Times access to all TAMU Law students via this link.
• The Wall Street Journal's legal news page - Subscription required.
• Politico's Legal Ethics news archive

• Try using alternate words or phrases for topics you're interested in. For example, if you're looking for articles on attorney advertising, try also searching for the words "marketing", "professional advertising", "solicitating business", or similar terms. Be creative!
• Combine search terms in different ways. Try searching for words in text fields and title fields, or looking for different combinations of terms to see what happens.
• Use advanced search options and database help documents to make sure you're searching correctly. You can't just type words into a text box and expect to get good results - use all of the options the database gives you.
• Take advantage of results filters. Most databases will let you limit your results by date and many have other options as well. Use these to limit your search results to only what you're most interested in.
• Still need help? See this research guide for more tips on effective and efficient searching, or contact a law librarian.