The library has a very large collection of materials on legal ethics, legal malpractice, and professional responsibility. A few of these books are listed below, but it's impractical to list all of the library's holdings in this guide, so this should not be taken as a comprehensive list.
The library's collection includes dozens of books aimed at various audiences - attorneys, judges, scholars, and the public. To locate these books, try a keyword or subject search in the library catalog using one of the following subject headings, or ask a reference librarian for assistance.
Legal Ethics in a Nutshell by
Many law professors aim to probe deep ethical issues in class. But they also need to cover the material that the multistate professional responsibility examination requires. The Rotunda Nutshell fulfils that need as it digests the Model rules ... [This] book places the rules in an historic context that lets the student understand problems with prior versions of the Rules, which led to the present version. The Nutshell also analyzes the American Law Institute's Restatement of the law governing lawyers, third.
Mastering Professional Responsibility by
This second edition of Mastering Professional Responsibility presents a concise explanation of the rules and concepts of lawyer professional responsibility. In creating the book, the author's goal is to provide students in the typical law school professional responsibility course with a source that explains the relevant rules and concepts in a way understandable to novices to the legal profession. In furtherance of that goal, the book provides a straightforward treatment of the subject, with special attention to the Model Rules of Professional Conduct and all recent amendments to those rules through the date of publication. For each topic, the book briefly addresses any relevant rationales, but primarily focuses on explaining the parameters of the applicable standards in a clear, understandable, step-by step manner.
The Practice Skills Toolkit by
Practice Skills Toolkit ADR is a compilation of articles, chosen by younger practicing lawyers, which struck them as helpful guides in the practice of law. These articles, arranged under the topics of Ethics, Discovery, and Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR), are timeless and universal in their appeal. In the world of increasingly complex discovery practice, increasing ADR, and serious attention to ethics guidelines, knowledge of these three areas is essential. Whether at a large or small firm, in-house or outside counsel, rural or urban, and regardless of practice area, each of these topics will affect all litigators.
Professional Responsibility: Examples & Explanations by
Appropriate for students in any Professional Responsibility course, this study aid is structured around concepts, so it doesn't feel like a march through the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. Not only does it have the proven pedagogy of the E & E series, it is also comprehensive and well balanced. Comprehensive, covers entire law governing lawyers Thoroughly revised to enhance clarity Revised to take account of changes to the Model Rules made by the ABA's Ethics 20/20 Commission Includes agency, fiduciary duty, tort, contract, constitutional, and corporate and securities PR Up to date and accessible; presents balanced approach to controversial issues
Professional Responsibility and Regulation by
This comprehensive examination of professional responsibility law contains in-depth, substantive discussion supported by expert analysis and commentary, case citations, statutes, and court rules. Subjects include conflicts of interest, qualifications for the bar, regulating the market for legal services, competency standards, and disciplinary measures. Also available via West Academic. Access limited to on-site users and authorized remote LAW users.
Regulation of the Legal Profession by
Offering big-picture perspective on Professional Responsibility, this brief introduction illuminates essential concepts with Stephen Gillers' characteristic expertise and clarity.
For background on ethics and professional responsibility for lawyers or for help getting started, take a look at the following recommended resources. All books can be found by searching in the Law Library's catalog.
Do No Wrong: Ethics for Prosecutors and Defenders by
Criminal law practice is a minefield of legal ethics issues for both the prosecution and defense. There are a myriad of ethical questions requiring not only an understanding of the relevant ethics rules, but also applicable constitutional and statutory law as well as rules of criminal procedure and evidence. This book aims to put these and other ethical questions on the radar screens of criminal practitioners.
Global Issues in Legal Ethics by
This book is designed to facilitate the introduction of international, transnational, and comparative law issues into a course on Professional Responsibility. The book is very accessible for law students (and their professors). The chapters can be used in any combination and in any order. The book can be assigned or recommended as optional reading to supplement a domestic-only course to advance the students' understanding of their own system.
Lawyering and Ethics for the Business Attorney by
With the deluge of corporate debacles during the last few years, a commonly-heard phrase is "where were the lawyers?" The coursebook sets forth twelve separate scenarios in which business attorneys grapple with sensitive and difficult issues. Scenarios range from the attorney's role in representing small business enterprises to internal investigations, client fraud, the lawyer as intermediary, and attorney conflict of interest dilemmas. The book is concise (200 pages) and highly useful as a supplement for business enterprise and professional responsibility courses. The author is a respected scholar, and has served as an expert witness in such high profile cases as Enron, Martha Stewart and Tyco. Accompanied by a teacher's manual.
Legal Ethics, Professional Responsibility, and the Legal Profession by
As the legal profession undergoes structural changes, longstanding principles of ethics still govern the day-to-day lives of practicing lawyers. This new Hornbook on professional responsibility provides both a snapshot of ongoing systemic changes and a thorough examination of the fundamentals of lawyer and judicial ethics. As a multi-dimensional work by scholarly experts in several fields, the Hornbook (1) begins with the changing environment in which legal services are provided in the modern economy; (2) continues with a theoretical grounding of legal ethics in moral philosophy; (3) offers empirical evidence and discussion about professional formation and moral development; (4) provides a comprehensive analysis of the law of lawyer ethics; (5) includes a rich discussion of the modern law of legal malpractice, and (6) concludes with exploration of the rules of judicial ethics.
Legal Ethics Stories by
Rhode and Luban's Legal Ethics Stories serves as a reminder that ultimately law is about human beings, not doctrines or even cases, because the human lives it addresses are real and vivid. The stories typify issues that most lawyers confront in one form or other at some time in their careers. This collection of 10 significant ethics rulings reveals the rich background surrounding salient cases on issues of: Race Gender Class Taxation Bankruptcy Defense representation Confidentiality Practicing with law partners Greed The story behind each case provides a look into its immediate impact as well as its continuing importance in shaping the law.
Lessons Learned: Practical Ethics for Busy Lawyers by
Every lawyer must learn the Rules of Professional Conduct in order to run an ethical practice. But putting the Rules into everyday practice can sometimes be a daunting task. Between running their business and serving their clients, attorneys can find it challenging to do what it takes to meet their ethical obligations. A law practice can pose many different ethical problems, and while the Rules can tell an attorney generally what is and isn't ethical, they don't offer substantive best practices for dealing with these real-life issues.Author Kevin Dornan has spent much of his career advising attorneys on professional responsibility and risk management, and now is bringing those years of experience to Lessons Learned. He takes these issues and puts the focus on practicing ethics in simple, everyday ways. The book presents a series of real-life situations that happened to real lawyers, and uses these studies to provide practical and relatable advice on navigating the everyday ethical pitfalls of the legal industry. Topics include:* Avoiding unintended clients* Writing solid and ethical fee agreements* Ensuring that referral fees comply with the Rules* Maintaining confidentiality and communication* Being aware of and dealing with conflicts of interest* Senior lawyers pressuring subordinates for unethical behavior
A Modern Legal Ethics by
A Modern Legal Ethics proposes a wholesale renovation of legal ethics, one that contributes to ethical thought generally. Daniel Markovits reinterprets the positive law governing lawyers to identify fidelity as its organizing ideal. Unlike ordinary loyalty, fidelity requires lawyers to repress their personal judgments concerning the truth and justice of their clients' claims. Next, the book asks what it is like--not psychologically but ethically--to practice law subject to the self-effacement that fidelity demands. Fidelity requires lawyers to lie and to cheat on behalf of their clients. However, an ethically profound interest in integrity gives lawyers reason to resist this characterization of their conduct. Any legal ethics adequate to the complexity of lawyers' lived experience must address the moral dilemmas immanent in this tension. The dominant approaches to legal ethics cannot. Finally, A Modern Legal Ethics reintegrates legal ethics into political philosophy in a fashion commensurate to lawyers' central place in political practice. Lawyerly fidelity supports the authority of adjudication and thus the broader project of political legitimacy. Throughout, the book rejects the casuistry that dominates contemporary applied ethics in favor of an interpretive method that may be mimicked in other areas. Moreover, because lawyers practice at the hinge of modern morals and politics, the book's interpretive insights identify--in an unusually pure and intense form--the moral and political conditions of all modernity.
Modern Legal Ethics by
Authoritative coverage focuses on a lawyer's fiduciary responsibility. Text describes the legal profession's self-regulatory system and the professional codes that have emerged. Examines lawyers and the legal profession, including regulation and discipline. Provides a detailed discussion of the client-lawyer relationship. Judges and the quality of justice are also addressed. Provides systematic examination of the issues covered in the 1969 Code of Professional Responsibility and the 1983 Model Rules of Professional Conduct.
Professional Responsibility in Litigation by
Trial and appellate lawyers face numerous professional responsibility challenges. These problems often arise suddenly or in circumstances that are at best difficult. The chapters of Professional Responsibility in Litigation are organized by tracing the life of a lawsuit from start to finish. The book begins with an examination of professional responsibility issues attending pre-suit investigations and the initiation of litigation and concludes with a discussion of the professional responsibilities of appellate lawyers.
Understanding Lawyers' Ethics by
This Understanding treatise analyzes the fundamental issues of lawyers' ethics and the ABA's Model Rules. It is designed to facilitate a real understanding of legal rules as distinguished from a superficial familiarity with them by challenging the reader to test their understanding of the legal rules against the reader's own moral standards and reasoned judgment. The fifth edition includes new chapters on Lawyers' Ethics in a Time of Crisis and Counseling Clients, Coaching Witnesses, and Cross-Examining to Discredit the Truth, and substantial updates on Judicial Ethics and more.