Research Guides: Alternative Dispute Resolution Research Guide: Arbitration

Arbitration Resources

Arbitration Road Map: A Guide to Clauses, Proceedings, & Hearings by State Bar of Texas
Call Number: KFT1760.5 .B74. Row 87A
This publication is available via Westlaw. You will be prompted to enter your Westlaw credentials.
Guides you through the arbitration process including strategies for drafting the arbitration clause, substantive and procedural law of arbitration, arbitrator selection, the hearing process & awards enforcement.
The Law of Dispute Resolution : Arbitration and Alternative Dispute Resolution by Jasper, Margaret C.
Call Number: KF9084 .Z9 J38 2000. Row 69B
The Law of Dispute Resolution focuses on the process of litigation and explores the alternative approaches to dispute resolution and the circumstances under which they are applied. It also discusses the roles of individuals who are involved with these procedures and the guidelines which they are required to follow.
Arbitration: a very short introduction by Schultz, Thomas; Grant, Thomas
ISBN: 9780191801952
Publication Date: 2021
This publication is available electronically. You will be prompted to enter your login credentials.
Arbitration: A Very Short Introduction explains what arbitration is, how it works, what parties who have agreed to go to arbitration should expect, the relationship between arbitration and the law, and the politics of arbitration. Arbitration is a legal dispute resolution mechanism, providing binding decisions which are enforceable around the world. This VSI considers where the global system of arbitration is headed.

Combining Mediation and Arbitration in International Commercial Dispute Resolution by Dilyara Nigmatullina
Call Number: K2400 .N53 2019 Row 24B
Presenting an empirical study of the combined use of mediation and arbitration in international commercial dispute resolution, this book synthesizes existing ways of addressing concerns associated with the same neutral (arb)-med-arb to provide recommendations on how to enhance the use of combinations in the future.
Domke on Commercial Arbitration by Domke, Martin et al.
Call Number: KF9085 .D64 2003. Row 69B
This publication is available via Westlaw. You will be prompted to enter your Westlaw Credentials.
Contains arbitration and litigation forms, checklists, illustrated examples and procedural outlines, American Arbitration Association rules, customs, practice tips, and procedures.
International Commercial Arbitration by Gary B. Born
Call Number: K2400 .B67 2014 Row 24B
The second edition of Gary Born's International Commercial Arbitration is an authoritative 4,408 page treatise, in three volumes, providing the most comprehensive commentary and analysis, on all aspects of the international commercial arbitration process, that is available.
Oehmke Commercial Arbitration by Oehmke, Thomas H.
Call Number: KF9085 .O34 2003. Row 69B
This publication is available via Westlaw. You will be prompted to enter your Westlaw Credentials.
Helps you successfully resolve business disputes, with detailed treatment of everything from the arbitration contract through appeals. This text includes federal statutes and rules, case law, checklists, forms, & (AAA) rules, customs, & procedures.
Overriding Mandatory Rules in International Commercial Arbitration by Hossein Fazilatfar
Call Number: K2400 .F39 2019 Row 24B
Overriding Mandatory Rules in International Commercial Arbitration discusses the applicability of mandatory rules of law in international commercial arbitration and addresses the concerns of the arbitrators and judges at various stages of arbitration and the recognition and enforcement of the award respectively.
Party-Appointed Arbitrators in International Commercial Arbitration by Alfonso Gomez-Acebo
Call Number: K2400 .G64 2016 Row 24B
The author's critical assessment addresses several issues including: - limits to the right of the parties to make unilateral appointments; - the principle of equality of the parties in the constitution of the arbitral tribunal; - arbitrators' duty to be impartial and independent; - specific problems of bias in tribunals with party-appointed members; - the question of whether a different standard of impartiality and independence in party-appointed arbitrators makes any sense; and, the presumption that party-appointed arbitrators can do things that presiding arbitrators cannot.

How arbitration works: Elkouri & Elkouri by Kenneth May
Call Number: KF3424 .E53 2016 Row 55A
This publication is also available via Bloomberg Law. You will be prompted to enter your Bloomberg Law Credentials.
Elkouri & Elkouri: How Arbitration Works covers issues including retiree health insurance, employer intellectual property protections, union recognition, and more. References include citations to hundreds of arbitration awards and judicial decisions. It includes tables of all discussed or cited arbitration awards, statutory authorities, and arbitrators.
AAA Handbook on Employment Arbitration and ADR by Thomas E. Carbonneau (Editor)
Call Number: KF3455 .H35 2007. Row 55A
ISBN: 9781929446490
Addresses various contemporary problems in arbitration and ADR law - such as the use of class action arbitration, the awarding of punitive damages in arbitration, the selection of arbitrators and mediators, and recent important articles written by authors who are recognized specialists in that area.
AAA Handbook on Labor Arbitration by Thomas E. Carbonneau (Editor)
Call Number: KF3424 .H35 2007. Row 55A
ISBN: 9781929446483
Addresses various contemporary problems in arbitration law - such as the use of class action arbitration, the awarding of punitive damages in arbitration, the selection of arbitrators and mediators and recent important articles written by authors who are recognized specialists in that area.
Labor Arbitration Practice : An Advocate's Handbook by Charles S. Loughran
Call Number: KF3424 .L69 2021. Row 55A
ISBN: 9781641058322
This book is a handbook to guide lawyers as well as lay employer and union advocates in preparing and presenting their cases to a neutral arbitrator or board of arbitration. It leads the reader through each step of the labor arbitration process, particularly to see the arbitration process from the perspective of the advocate and to evaluate the strategies and tactics often employed by experienced advocates in case preparation and presentation.

Bloomberg Law (You will be prompted to enter your Bloomberg Law credentials)

AAA Labor Arbitration Awards

Lexis (You will be prompted to enter your Lexis credentials) provides access to:

Westlaw (You will be prompted to enter your Westlaw credentials) provides access to:

FINRA Arbitration Awards

Provides access to FINRA Arbitration Awards by date, document type, forum number, or keyword search amongst other search criteria
Enter any of the above criteria in the boxes provided
Review the results

National Mediation Board Knowledge Store provides access to:

Public Law Board Decisions by board number, award number, and keyword search
Enter any of the above criteria in the boxes provided
Review the results

AAA Handbook on International Arbitration and ADR by Thomas E. Carbonneau (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .H35 2006 Row 24B
The Handbooks on Arbitration and ADR are succinct, comprehensive and practical introductions to the use of arbitration and ADR in various fields, written by leading practitioners and scholars. They provide essential orientation and are a must for anyone with an interest in the field of arbitration and ADR. The Handbooks also address various contemporary problems in arbitration and ADR law - such as the use of class action arbitration, the awarding of punitive damages in arbitration, and the selection of arbitrators and mediators.
Arbitration: the Art and Science of Persuasion by Donald Vinson; Klaus Reichert
Call Number: K2400 .V55 2022
ISBN: 9780192867902
Publication Date: 2022-12-19
Effective persuasion is an art; an art which can be learned and perfected with practice and insight into human behaviour. This innovative book, written for lawyers and those interested in the science of persuasion in a legal setting, is the first to explain how key concepts from psychology, sociology, and communication science can be productively applied to the art of persuasion in international dispute resolution.
Challenges and Recusals of Judges and Arbitrators in International Courts and Tribunals by Chiara Giorgetti (Editor)
Call Number: KZ6250 .C53 2015 Row 90A
Challenges and Recusals of Judges and Arbitrators in International Courts and Tribunals examines one of the fundamental control mechanisms of international dispute resolution. In doing so, the book assesses procedures, standards and outcomes of challenges and recusals in some of the main international courts and tribunals, including the ICJ, ICSID, the PCA, the WTO, the Iran-US Claims Tribunal, the ICC and international criminal courts.
Contemporary Issues in International Arbitration and Mediation: the Fordham Papers by Arthur W. Rovine (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .A6 C65 2009 Row 24B
The 2008 volume of Contemporary Issues in International Arbitration and Mediation - The Fordham Papers is a collection of important works in international arbitration and mediation written by the prominent speakers at the 2008 Fordham Law School Conference on International Arbitration and Mediation.
Cross-Examination in International Arbitration by Kaj Hobér; Howard S. Sussman
Call Number: K2400 .H62 2014 Row 24B
Provides a thoroughly illustrated analysis of how essential cross-examination techniques can best be adapted to the arbitral format. Concise and well organized, it leads the reader through the different cross-examination techniques in an accessible point-by-point structure, presenting readers with a clear and authoritative introduction to the "art" of cross-examination or a quick reference for more experienced practitioners.
The Culture of International Arbitration by Won L. Kidane
Call Number: KZ6115 .K53 2017 Row 90A
The book provides a comprehensive definition of culture, and methodically documents and examines the epistemology of determining facts in various legal traditions and how the mixing of traditions influences the outcome. By so doing, the book demonstrates the acute need for increasing cultural diversity among arbitrators and counsel while securing appropriate levels of cultural competence.
ICC Arbitration in Practice by Erik Schäfer; Christophe Imhoos; Herman Verbist
Call Number: K2400 .S33 2016 Row 24B
Using clear and concise language, unencumbered by footnotes and illustrated by flow diagrams, the authors guide the reader through the various stages of ICC arbitration proceedings, from initiation to the final award. Written from a practical perspective, this book remains an essential resource for company lawyers who wish to familiarize themselves with ICC arbitration, assess the pros and cons of entering into an arbitration clause referring to the ICC Rules, or obtain information and guidance on how to proceed in a given situation.
The Independence and Impartiality of ICSID Arbitrators by Maria Nicole Cleis
Call Number: K3834 .C54 2017
Juxtaposing existing disqualification decisions in the ICSID system against corresponding requirements in related dispute settlement systems, the book convincingly argues that the current approach to disqualification requests against ICSID arbitrators is too exacting in light of the high stakes of investor-State disputes.
International Adjudication on Trial: the effectiveness of the WTO dispute settlement system by Sivan Shlomo Agon
Call Number: K4610.5 .S55 2019
Drawing on interviews with WTO adjudicators, WTO Secretariat staff, ambassadors, trade delegates, and trade lawyers, the book offers an elaborate analysis of the various goals steering the DSS's work, the diverse roles it plays, the challenges it confronts, and the outcomes it produces.
International Arbitration: law and practice by Gary Born
Call Number: K2400 .B6764 2016 Row 24B
International Arbitration: Law and Practice (Second Edition) provides a comprehensive coverage of the basic principles and legal doctrines, and the practice, of international arbitration. It contains a systematic and concise treatment of all aspects of the arbitral process, including international arbitration agreements, international arbitral proceedings, and international arbitral awards.
International Arbitration and Mediation: A Practical Guide by John Savage; Michael Mcilwrath
Call Number: K2400 .M35 2010. Row 24B
The practical guidance includes: ; How to determine which dispute resolution clauses work best for different international contracts, and how to negotiate those clauses; What preliminary steps parties should consider to preserve their rights when a dispute arises; Whether and how to appoint counsel; When and how to perform an early case assessment (ECA); How to organise and conduct international mediations and arbitration proceedings; How to enforce (or set aside) arbitral awards; and Securing the benefit of additional protections available through investment treaties.
The Oxford Handbook of International Arbitration by Thomas Schultz (Editor); Federico Ortino (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .O94 2020 Row 24B
This Handbook gives voice to many of the key scholars in international arbitration, and some of its leading practitioners, to present and discuss cutting-edge knowledge in the area. It reflects the different "languages" used in the field and offers the reader a one-stop-shop entry into the subject, and the ways in which international arbitration is discussed today.
Practising Virtue: inside international arbitration by David D. Caron (Editor); Stephan W. Schill (Editor); Abby Cohen Smutny (Editor); Epaminontas E. Triantafilou (Editor)
Call Number: KZ6115 .P73 2015 Row 90A
International arbitration has developed into a global system of adjudication, dealing with disputes arising from a variety of legal relationships: between states, between private commercial actors, and between private and public entities. Instead of concentrating on the national and international law governing international arbitration, it focuses on those who practice international arbitration, in order to understand how it actually works, what its sources of authority are, and what demands of legitimacy it must meet.
Principles of International Litigation and Arbitration by Ralph Folsom
Call Number: K7340 .F64 2019 Row 26A
Principles of International Litigation and Arbitration, 2d contains considerable depth, analysis, citations and related documents. It can be used in connection with any international dispute settlement course book. Principles can also be used independently as an inexpensive course book, notably in conjunction with the legal documents appended at the end of its chapters.

AAA Handbook on Construction Arbitration and ADR by Thomas E. Carbonneau (Editor, Adapted by); Philip J. McConnaughay (Editor)
Call Number: KF902 .A5 H35 2007. Row 46A
The Handbook on Construction Arbitration and ADR is succinct, comprehensive and a practical introduction to the use of arbitration and ADR in various fields, written by leading practitioners and scholars. It also addresses various contemporary problems in arbitration and ADR law - such as the use of class action arbitration, the awarding of punitive damages in arbitration, and the selection of arbitrators and mediators.
Arbitrating the Conduct of International Investors by Jose Daniel Amado; Jackson Shaw Kern; Martin Doe Rodriguez
Call Number: K2400 .A433 2018
This volume serves as a comprehensive guide for those who wish to reform international investment law from within, seeking a return to the mutuality of access that is in arbitration's essence. A detailed toolset is provided for enhancing the access of host States and their nationals to formal resolution mechanisms in foreign investment disputes.
Arbitration and the Constitution by Peter B. Rutledge
Call Number: K2400 .R88 2013. Row 24B
ISBN: 9781107006119
Arbitration has become an increasingly important mechanism for dispute resolution, both in the domestic and international setting. Despite its importance as a form of state-sanctioned dispute resolution, it has largely remained outside the spotlight of constitutional law. This landmark work represents one of the first attempts to synthesize the fields of arbitration law and constitutional law.
Arbitration Costs: myths and realities in investment treaty arbitration by Susan D. Franck
Call Number: K3830 .F73 2019 Row 25B
This book uses insights drawn from cognitive psychology and hard data to explore the reality of investment treaty arbitration, identify core demographics and basic information on outcomes, and drill down on the costs of parties' counsel and arbitral tribunals.
Arbitration of Intellectual Property Disputes in the United States
Call Number: K1401 .H345 2018 Row 24A
ISBN: 1944825215
The Arbitration of Intellectual Property Disputes in the United States examines intellectual property arbitration disputes where the governing procedural laws are exclusively those of United States federal or state law.
Contemporary and Emerging Issues on the Law of Damages and Valuation in International Investment Arbitration by Christina L. Beharry (Editor)
Call Number: K2400 .C658 2018
This text examines a broad range of damages topics, building on basic principles and surveying current developments to identify trends in the jurisprudence. A central contribution of this book is its exploration of cutting-edge issues dominating a new generation of investment awards and the interconnectedness of damages with other areas of international investment law. T
Dispute Resolution in Sport: athletes, law, and arbitration by David McArdle
Call Number: K3702 .M33 2015 Row 25B
The book explores, in depth, the development of alternative dispute resolutions in sports, paying particular attention to high-profile institutions such as the Court of Arbitration for Sport, the FIFA Football Dispute Resolution Panel and important national-level bodies, and their relationship with national and international-level actors such as the IOC, WADA and the European Union.
Investor - State Arbitration and Human Rights by Filip Balcerzak
Call Number: K3830 .B34 2017 Row 25B
In Investor - state arbitration and human rights Filip Balcerzak examines the interrelations between human rights and international investment law. The work discusses whether, and how, human rights arguments may be presented in the course of arbitral proceedings based on investment treaties.
Judicial Acts and Investment Treaty Arbitration by Berk Demirkol
Call Number: K967 .D44 2018
Berk Demirkol addresses questions in relation to the substance, jurisdiction, admissibility, and remedies in cases where state responsibility arises from a wrongful judicial act.
Online Arbitration by Faye Fangfei Wang
Call Number: K2390 .W35 2018. Row 24B
This book provides a comparative study of online dispute resolution (ODR) systems and a model of best practices, taking into consideration the features and characteristics of various practical experiences/examples of ODR services and technological development for ODR systems and platforms.
Securities Arbitration: Practice and Forms by W. Reece Bader, and Burton W. Wiand.
Call Number: KF1070 .S428 2015. Row 46B
ISBN: 9781937518349
Start-to-finish guide and reference to the entire arbitration process for all types of participants.This publication is an efficient tool that can be readily used by all participants at every stage in the securities arbitration process.
Securities Arbitration Procedure Manual by David E. Robbins
Call Number: KF9085 .R62 2001: Row 69B
ISBN: 9780327161882
This publication is available via Lexis. You will be prompted to enter your Lexis credentials.
Includes forms and samples, what to ask for in discovery, how to select arbitrators, what arbitrators want to see in claims and answers, how to prepare your client to testify and how to cross examine opposing witnesses in an arbitration setting.

JAMS Forms
JAMS forms for arbitration and mediation including a demand for arbitration form, a Federal Arbitration Act subpoena form, case submission forms, and a sample mediation agreement.
American Arbitration Association Forms
Available forms include arbitration an answer statement and counterclaim request form, a labor demand for arbitration form, a request for mediation form, a submission to dispute resolution form , and a subpoena.
West's Arbitration Form Finder
You will be prompted to enter your Westlaw Credentials.
Find the form you need fast with this easy-to-search collection of forms, checklists, and clauses.