Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Federal Income Tax Law & Procedure

Federal Laws

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Online Versions

U.S. Internal Revenue Service, Tax Code, Regulations & Official Guidance

Cornell University Legal Information Institute, U.S. Code Title 26: Internal Revenue Code

BNA TaxCore - Provides tax-related documents in full text from Congress, the IRS and other sources.

Print Versions

Boris I. Bittker, Federal taxation of income, estates and gifts, 3rd ed. ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6335 .B58

Commerce Clearing House, Internal revenue code ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6356.5386 .A19 I58

Douglas Kahn, Federal income tax: a guide to the Internal Revenue Code, 7th ed. (2016) ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6369 .K34 2016

Daniel J. Lathrope, Selected federal taxation statutes and regulations ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6335 .A29 S44

Federal Regulations

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Cornell University Legal Information Institute, 26 CFR Chapter I, Internal Revenue Service

Commerce Clearing House, CCH federal tax compliance guide ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6365 .F43 2009 or onCCH Intelliconnect

Commerce Clearing House, Income tax regulations ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6356.99 I53 or onCCH Intelliconnect

Internal Revenue Rulings

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Westlaw, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law all offer access to IRS rulings. Individual logins and passwords may be required to access these services.

Commerce Clearing House, Standard federal tax reporter ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6285 S73 or on CCH Intelliconnect

RIA Checkpoint - A federal and state tax research system.

Other Resources

Online Resources

Databases with a key icon () in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

CCH Intelliconnect - An online research platform that includes the tax, legal and business compliance content of Wolters Kluwer Law & Business (including material from CCH, Aspen Publishers, Loislaw and Kluwer Law International).

RIA Checkpoint - A federal and state tax research system.

BNA Daily Tax Report - Daily coverage of taxation, pension, budget, and accounting issues.

BNA Tax Management Portfolios - Provides online access to the U.S. Income and Estates, Gifts and Trusts portfolios.

New York University School of Law, Federal Tax Research Guide (note that some of the resources in this guide may only be available to NYU students and faculty)

Print Resources

Joseph Bankman, Federal income tax, 6th ed. (2011) ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6369.3 .B35 2011

J. Martin Burke, Taxation of individual income, 11th ed. (2015) ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6368 .B87 2015

Jacob Mertens, The law of federal income taxation ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6365 .M47 1942

John K. McNulty, Federal income taxation of individuals in a nutshell, 8th ed. (2012) ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6369.3 .M36 2012

RIA federal tax handbook ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6289.3 .R52 or onRIA Checkpoint

Katherine Pratt, Federal income tax: examples and explanations, 7th ed. (2014) ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6369.3 .B35 2014

Robert Sellers Smith, West's tax law dictionary ♦ Available in the library at call number KF6287 .S65