Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Guide - Criminal Justice Law & Policy

Criminology, Sociology & Criminal Psychology

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key iconCriminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

key iconLegal Source: Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical law, labor and human resource law, ethics, the environment and much more.

key iconSocial Sciences Full Text: Covers social sciences including psychology, sociology, education, community health, policy sciences, minority studies, economics, social work, criminology, environmental studies, and more. Full text from 1994-present, Indexing from 1983-present.

key iconSocINDEX With Full Text: Offers coverage from all subdisciplines of sociology, including abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and many others.

key iconSociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection: Includes the full-text of 28 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back twenty years, encompassing over 10,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies).

key iconSocial Theory: Covers social behavior and organization. Includes full text documents from 1787-present. Browse by social theories or subject.

Internet Journal of Criminology

American Society of Criminology List of Criminology/Criminal Justice-Related Journals: Includes links to the home pages of dozens of journals, many of which are open access.

Polls & Statistics

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key iconGallup Analytics: Users can access Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll data to compare residents' responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.

key iconGeneral Social Survey: The GSS conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor societal change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.

key iconInter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research: Supplies data files for use with statistical software, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata. Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data.

key iconNeighborhood Change Database: Provides instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. A resource for policy makers, community organizations, and researchers who want to analyze changes that have occurred in US neighborhoods over four decades. The NCDB contains 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 Long Form data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.

key iconPew Research Center for the People and the Press: Provides research about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Also online at Pew Research Center.

key iconPolling the Nations: This international numerical, statistical database is searchable by topic, country and polling agencies.

key iconSocial Explorer: Dedicated to providing easy access to demographic information about the United States. It includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States, including historical data back to 1940.

key iconSocial Science Statistical Laboratory: Serves as a center for information, research and quantitative analysis. Provides in-depth consulting for data management, statistical software, quantitative methods, data resources, geospatial resources and analysis, and the emerging technologies in support of interdisciplinary scholarship.

U.S. Bureau of Justice Statistics: Official repository of criminal justice-related statistics collected by the federal government. Covers a wide variety of topics including charges, types of crimes, offender demographics, and sentencing outcomes. Data may be several years old.

Substance Abuse & Addiction

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key icon National Criminal Justice Reference Service: Provides justice and substance abuse information to support research. It includes an abstract database and publications online available in full text.

International Journal of Drug Policy

key icon MedLine Complete

National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism

National Institute on Drug Abuse

RAND Drug Policy Research Center

Substance Abuse: Research & Treatment: An international, peer reviewed, open access journal focusing on human substance abuse research and treatment, including medical treatment and screening, mental health services, research, and evaluation of substance abuse programs.

Texas Department of State Health Services, Substance Abuse Data, Research & Reports

Advocacy Groups

Drug Policy Alliance

Global Commission on Drug Policy

The Sentencing Project: Drug Policy

General Research Databases

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key iconAcademic Search Ultimate: A full-text, scholarly database of more than 12,000 journals (10,900 peer-reviewed) in almost every academic discipline. Also includes over 60,000 videos from the Associated Press.

key iconDirectory of Open Access Journals: Indexing, abstracting, and free full text access for scholarly journals in many subject areas, including health science, languages and literature, business, history, law, and social science..

Google Scholar: Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

key iconJSTOR: A huge archive of academic and scholarly journals in a wide variety of subject areas. JSTOR offers high-resolution scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally printed. JSTOR is an archival database, not a current issues database. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

key iconProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with over a million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.