Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Seminar Guide - Texas Legal History

Major Texas Historical Resources

These resources cover Texas history in general, with no particular focus on any specific subject. Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Bob Bullock State History Museum

Texas State Historical Association

Texas Historical Commission

key iconTexas Almanac: Includes articles and data about history and government; population and demographics; the natural environment; parks, sports and recreation; business and transportation; oil and minerals; agriculture; science and health; education; and culture and the arts. It even includes a pronunciation guide to Texas town and county names.

Texas State Archives

The Portal to Texas History at UNT

Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at UT - most resources are in print only and must be viewed in person

The Texas Collection at Baylor University

Texas, Our Texas from Texas PBS - can browse by topic or era

key iconTexas Digital Sanborn Maps: Digitized maps providing detailed property and land-use records that depict the architecture of more than 12,000 U.S. towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years. The maps enable researchers to trace the architectural history of individual buildings or entire communities.

Texas Cities

Austin History Center - materials available in print only

Bexar County Historical Commission

Dallas Historical Society

Flashback Dallas

City of Fort Worth, Fort Worth History

Handbook of Houston

Houston History Magazine

Major Academic Historical Resources

These resources represent the academic field of history and are not specifically focused on Texas, although they will include Texas-related materials. Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

key iconHeritageQuest Online - Collection of research materials for tracing family history and American culture. Features original page images for all documents.

Digital History at the University of Houston

key iconAmerica: History & Life With Full Text - This resource provides concrete literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Contains full-text coverage of hundreds of journals and books, and selective indexing for journals dating back nearly 60 years.

key iconSabin Americana Digital Archive - Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.

key iconJSTOR - Multidisciplinary archive of digitized scholarly journals. Content spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities, social sciences, and general and biological sciences but continues to grow.

key iconProject Muse - Full text access to over 350 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences from Johns Hopkins' University Press, as well as a growing number of other University Presses and scholarly publishers. Coverage is current with years of back issues varying by title.

key iconTAMU Libraries History Databases - see this page for all history-related databases not covered here.

Google Scholar

Social Science Research Network

Journals

Databases with a key icon (key icon) in front of them are provided by the Law Library or the Texas A&M Libraries. A NetID and password may be required for access.

Texas & Southern History

East Texas Historical Journal - full-text archives available free online

Journal of Big Bend Studies

key iconJournal of Southern History - Available to TAMU students & faculty via JSTOR.

key iconJournal of Southern Legal History - Published annually by the Georgia Legal History Foundation, Inc. The Journal explores, analyzes, and depicts the history of law, the legal culture and profession, and the courts, including federal courts, in Georgia, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Kentucky, Tennessee, Alabama, Florida, Mississippi, Arkansas, Missouri, Louisiana, and Texas.

Journal of South Texas

Legacies: A History Journal for Dallas & North Central Texas (via the Portal to Texas History) - full text available free online

Southwestern Historical Quarterly - full-text archives available free online

American History

key iconAmerican Journal of Legal History

key iconFederal History Journal - A peer-reviewed, open-access journal published annually online and in print by the Society for History in the Federal Government in Washington, DC. The journal promotes scholarship on all aspects of the history and operations of the federal government, and of critical historical interactions between American society and the U.S. government, including the U.S. military, 1776 to the present.

key iconJournal of Legal History - Founded in 1980, this is the only British journal concerned solely with legal history. It publishes articles in English on the sources and development of the common law, both in the British Isles and overseas, on the history of the laws of Ireland, Scotland, and Wales, and on Roman Law and the European legal tradition.

key iconLaw & History Review - America's leading legal history journal. Encompasses American, European, and ancient legal history issues. The journal's purpose is to further research in the fields of the social history of law and the history of legal ideas and institutions.