Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Researching Election & Voting Law

Highlights

The Supreme Court and Election Law: Judging Equality From Baker v. Carr to Bush v. Gore

Law and Election Politics

Campaign Rules

Campaign and Election Reform

Voting in American Elections

Congressional Elections

The Federal Election Commission

Voting in America

Rude Republic

The Supreme Court and Election Law: Judging Equality From Baker v. Carr to Bush v. Gore

Supreme Court and Election Law

  • by Richard L. Hasen; New York : New York University Press, c2003
  • Discusses the U.S. Supreme Court's role in regulating elections and political process cases.

Law and Election Politics: the Rules of the Game

[Cover]

Library call number: KF4886 .L39 2013

  • edited by Matthew J. Streb; 2nd ed.; New York : Routledge, c2013
  • Contains essays analyzing the role of electoral politics on electoral laws and court rulings.
  • Covers a variety of topics related to election law, including ethics, campaign financing, redistricting, ballot access, and judicial elections.

Campaign Rules: a 50-State Guide to Campaigns and Elections in America

[Cover]

Library call number: KF4886 .K38 2010

  • by Nina Kasniunas; Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield, c2010
  • Focuses on state and local election laws.
  • Gives detailed information on each state's election laws and regulations.
  • Includes state-level statistical information.

Campaign and Election Reform: a Reference Handbook

[Cover]

Library call number: JK1976 .U88 2008

  • by Glenn H. Utter; 2nd ed.; Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2008
  • Presents a historical overview of U.S. election reform efforts, from the introduction of the secret ballot to the present day.

Voting in American Elections: the Shaping of the American Political Universe Since 1788

Library call number: JK1965 .B87 2010

  • by Walter Dean Burnham; Bethesda : Academica Press, c2010
  • Focuses on state-level voting behavior and turnout data for presidential, gubernatorial, and congressional elections from 1788 to the present.
  • Covers primaries and general elections.
  • The comprehensive source for historical voting statistics.

Congressional Elections: Campaigning at Home and in Washington

[Cover]

Library call number: JK1976 .H47 2008

  • by Paul S. Herrnson; 5th ed.; Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2008
  • Examines the mechanics of congressional elections and how they impact the greater electoral system.
  • Covers all aspects of congressional politics and includes case studies of specific campaigns.
  • Updated through the 2006 midterm elections.

The Federal Election Commission: Policy, Politics, and Administration

[Cover]

Library call number: JK1991 .S53 2007

  • by Maurice C. Sheppard; Lanham, MD : University Press of America, 2007
  • Overview of the U.S. Federal Election Commission and its interactions with the various branches of government.
  • Focuses on campaign finance regulation.

Voting in America: a Reference Handbook

[Cover]

Library call number: JK1976 .D52 2004

  • by Robert E. DiClerico; Santa Barbara, Calif. : ABC-CLIO, c2004
  • Covers all aspects of American voting rights and laws from 1715 to the present.

Rude Republic: Americans and Their Politics in the Nineteenth Century

[Cover]

Library call number: E337.5 .A48 2000

  • by Glenn C. Altschuler and Stuart M. Blumin; Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2000
  • Investigation into the realities of nineteenth century elections in their historical context.