Skip to main content

Researching Election & Voting Law

Highlights

Election Law in a Nutshell

Federal Election Campaign Financing Guide (CCH)

Election Law Journal: Rules, Politics, and Policy

AmJur

CJS

Voting Rights and Election Law

Election Law: Cases and Materials

America Votes! A Guide to Modern Election Law and Voting Rights

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections

Money and Politics Report (BNA)

Election Law in a Nutshell

[Cover]

Library call number: KF4886 .T64 2013

  • by Daniel P. Tokaji; West, c2013
  • Covers federal election law issues and major primary sources. Useful resource for those new to election law research.

Federal Election Campaign Financing Guide (CCH)

Library call number: KF4920 .A6 F434

  • Includes the full text of the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) and the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act (BCRA), as well as court opinions, FEC advisory opinions, regulations, etc.
  • Available in print only

Election Law Journal: Rules, Politics, and Policy

Library call number: K5 .L42

  • The leading journal for current coverage of election law, policy, and administration

  • Provides analysis of cutting edge legal issues as well as interdisciplinary research on the regulation of the political process

  • Available in print and electronically
    • LegalTrac has .pdf from 2008-present

Legal Encyclopedias

American Jurisprudence 2d                                                            Corpus Juris Secundum

 
 
   
 
25-26 Am. Jur. 2d Elections §§ 1-478                                           29 C.J.S. Elections §§ 1-583

 

Both encyclopedias provide thorough discussions of election law topics ranging from "the right to vote" to "election districts and apportionment" to "election contests." All entries include significant research references to primary and secondary authority.

Voting Rights and Election Law

Library call number: KF4886 .D54 2010

  • by Michael Dimino, Bradley Smith, and Michael Solimine; 1st ed.; New Providence, NJ : LexisNexis, c2010

Election Law: Cases and Materials

Library call number: KF4886 .A4 L69 2008

  • by Daniel H. Lowenstein, Richard L. Hasen, and Daniel P. Tokaji; 4th ed.; Durham, N.C.: Carolina Academic Press, c2008

America Votes! A Guide to Modern Election Law and Voting Rights

Library call number: KF4886 .A44 2012

  • by Benjamin E. Griffith; 2nd ed.; Chicago, IL : American Bar Association, Section of State and Local Government Law, c2012
  • Provides views of America's voting and electoral practices, problems and most current issues

Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections

Library call number: JK1967 .C65 1994

  • 6th ed.; Washington, DC : CQ Press, c2010
  • Provides basic information on the electoral process, detailed analysis of specific political eras, data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections from 2006 to 2008

Money and Politics Report (BNA)

  • Provides daily coverage of campaign finance reform, lobbying regulations, and government ethics issues at federal, state and local levels
  • Available to all of the library's patrons on-campus. Off-campus access is restricted to law school students, faculty, and staff

Click here to access the library's Electronic Resources