Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Locating U.S. Supreme Court Dockets, Orders, Oral Argument Transcripts, Opinions and Briefs

Where can I find Opinions of the Court in print?

The following titles can be found in the Dee J. Kelly Law Library at the call numbers listed:

Official Reporters

United States Reports - KF101 .U55

The United States Reports is the official version of the Court's decisions and starts its coverage with 1875; pre-1875 official reports are named after the Reporter of Decisions at that time. There is a severe lag time with these reporters -- opinions often don't appear in print until several years after the term in which they were handed down.

Unofficial Reporters

These publications are updated more frequently and contain the same text as the U.S. Reports. They also contain added information such as headnotes, summaries, and annotations.

United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyer's Edition - KF101 .U52

This set contains the full-text of Supreme Court decisions back to 1790. 

West's Supreme Court Reporter - KF101 .S8

This set contains the full-text of Supreme Court decisions back to 1872.

United States Law Week - KF105 .U56

This set contains the full-text of Supreme Court decisions back to 1933. 

Where can I find Opinions of the Court electronically?

Google Scholar: Click the "case law" button to search full-text legal opinions from U.S. federal and state district, appellate and supreme courts. You can search opinions by keyword, case name, citation, topic, or justice.

Findlaw: This site provides a database of Supreme Court decisions since 1760. The database can be searched by year, U.S. Reports volume number or citation, cases name, and full-text.

Cornell's Legal Information Institute: Cornell University School of Law provides two separate databases for recent and older opinions.

Supreme Court website: The Court's website contains opinions issued by the Court over the last several years. These documents are temporary and are removed when the United States Reports volume containing the official opinions is published. This page provides PDF versions of the United States Reports from volume 502 (1991) to the current volume (warning: these are very large files). A case citation finder is also provided on this page, covering all Supreme Court opinions since 1790.

Westlaw: Westlaw contains opinions from 1790-present. Note that Westlaw is a fee-based service and a valid Westlaw password is required for access.

Lexis: Lexis provides Supreme Court opinions from 1790-present.  Lexis is a fee-based service and a valid Lexis ID is required for access.