Research Guides: Public Patron's Guide to Family Law: Home

Home

Welcome to the Dee J. Kelly Law Library!

This research guide provides information on some (but not all) family law related resources located in the law library collection. You may also search the Law Library catalog for additional family law resources.

Per our Reference Policy, Law Librarians CANNOT conduct research for others, answer questions about the law, nor provide advice that may be construed as the professional judgment of a legal expert.

Family Law by William P. Statsky
Call Number: KF505 .S838 2004
ISBN: 1401848273
Provides accurate, concise coverage of family law with an emphasis on practical paralegal skills and technique. The text presents all the standard topics that must be covered in a family law course, but does so in a briefer format.
Family Law in Perspective by Walter Wadlington
Call Number: KF505 .W33 2007
ISBN: 1599412381
Describes the developments of alternatives to marriage, same-sex marriage, and the expansion of assisted reproductive technology and gestational surrogacy. Spousal and child support continue to be addressed at the state level through expanding definitions of what constitutes property, the need to limit the duration of spousal support, and the presumptive value of child support statutes.
Family Law by Randy Frances Kandel
Call Number: KF505 .Z9 K35 2000
ISBN: 0735513902
This brief paperback provides the topical coverage of the major casebooks, and includes lucid explanations of basic concepts and reader-friendly examples. it distinguishes itself from others by offering conceptually developed text, rather than a skeleton of cases and statutes.
Vernon's Texas statutes & codes annotated: Family Code by Thomson West
Call Number: KFT 1230.5 .V4 F34
The Black Statutes are part of the most respected and widely used system for legal research in Texas. This set of books contains the official Texas statutes and includes annotations to cases and other research materials. Prompt update service keeps you informed of changes in the law and the latest judicial interpretations.
The Handbook of Texas Family Law: A Quick Reference Guide to the Texas Family Code
Call Number: KFT1280 .T492
A general discussion of Texas law with forms. Contains the full text of the Texas Family Code and includes topics such as events permitting the recovery of attorney fees, as well as the recovery of damages, expenses, and other costs in suits concerning children.