The Law Library has a new collection of American Nominative Reports, available through HeinOnline!
A Glimpse into Early Court Reporting
Court reporting has evolved significantly over the centuries, and nominative reports hold a critical place in that history. These early reports, first emerging in England in the 1500s, laid the foundation for how legal decisions were recorded and shared. Before the establishment of a standardized court reporting system, legal notes were often taken and published by individuals, such as lawyers, judges, or even laypeople. These nominative reports provided invaluable insights into not only the legal decisions made but also the societal norms and values of the time.
What Are Nominative Reports?
Nominative reports are volumes of court decisions named after the person who compiled and published them. Since there was no formal court reporting system in place, many different reporters could cover the same case, or no one might cover it at all. As a result, the quality and thoroughness of the reports varied widely from one reporter to another. However, despite these inconsistencies, these early reports shaped the development of case law and legal practice in profound ways.
The emergence of nominative reports in England during the 1500s marked the beginning of a historical record of court cases that not only explained legal reasoning but also offered a snapshot of the era’s social and legal context. These reports were not written by judges but were based on the reporter’s notes, which summarized the case facts, the arguments made, and the final ruling.
The Evolution of American Nominative Reports
In the colonial period, American courts largely followed English legal precedents, and like in England, court reporting in America initially lacked standardization. The first compilations of American federal and state court opinions—called nominative reports—mirrored the informal and inconsistent methods of their English counterparts. These reports, privately published and commonly named after the court reporter who prepared them, became the earliest recorded cases in American legal history.
It wasn’t until 1817 that the U.S. Supreme Court established an official, salaried position for a court reporter. This was a significant milestone that began the transition from nominative reports to a more structured system of court reporting. In 1874, Congress approved funds to publish official volumes of Supreme Court opinions, known as the United States Reports, a collection that is still in use today.
HeinOnline’s Collection of American Nominative Reports
For legal scholars, historians, and researchers, HeinOnline offers a comprehensive digital collection of American nominative reports. Spanning from 1789 to 1907, this collection includes federal and state court decisions, as well as the entire set of Federal Cases, a compilation of U.S. circuit and district court rulings. These reports are arranged alphabetically and numbered consecutively, creating an inclusive archive of lower-level federal court decisions up until 1880, when the Federal Reporter began publication.
Some of the key figures in American nominative reports include:
These names represent the individuals who took on the responsibility of documenting early American legal history before formalized reporting became the norm.
The Legacy of Nominative Reports
Nominative reports offer a unique perspective on the evolution of legal systems, showing how early case law was influenced by individual perspectives and recording practices. For modern legal professionals, these reports provide not only historical context but also insight into the foundations of American and English legal traditions. Through collections like HeinOnline's, these early records remain accessible to anyone interested in the roots of legal reporting and decision-making.
In addition to the court opinions themselves, HeinOnline’s collection also includes scholarly articles on nominative reports, allowing users to dive deeper into the history and significance of these early legal documents. This resource serves as a valuable tool for understanding the development of court reporting and its role in shaping modern legal systems.
For more information on Nominative Reports and helpful tips on searching HeinOnline's collection, check out this helpful LibGuide
Happy Researching!
Your Dee J. Kelly Law Library
0 Comments.